Knitting: A Lesson in Perserverence

Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything. James 1:4

Okay, so here it is…

I began Drake’s first sock when Graeme was a baby (he is 4 now).  Between home-schooling 2 children, entertaining a pre-schooler  and nursing a little one, my life became quite sedetary.  Not wanted to be completely unproductive, I rediscovered knitting. My mother had been knitting the most amazing socks for years, and it was inspiring!  So, I began, and needless to say, I was hooked!

Considering I hadn’t knitted since I was probably 10, I did pretty well.  The sock yarn was lovely (free knitting tip: beautiful yarn hides imperfections), but I discovered after hours logged I found a noticeable flaw in the ribbing. That just wouldn’t do, so I unraveled the whole sock…

Fast forward two years, and I recovered my sock bag.  I was determined this time, and I was also spending many hours at hockey rinks.  The combination proved to be the perfect catalyst – finally Drake’s first sock was completed!  With momentum in my favor, quickly I began knitting the next sock.  What I didn’t figure into the equation was that Drake’s feet had grown…  Did I mention the younger brothers have several pairs of hand-knit socks now?

Being a hockey mom affords you ample time for knitting especially when your 11 year son absolutely needs to be at the rink 1 hour prior to games and practices.  So, this past season I was able to complete many knitting projects. And again, I began a new pair of socks for Drake.  The yarn is really beautiful with browns and rust and khaki-green in a self-striping pattern.  The first sock is done (and fits!), and the second sock is almost completed…

Did I mention the cat?

Tobias the Cat

Tobias the Cat

8 Comments to “Knitting: A Lesson in Perserverence”

  1. hahaha!!!!!!!! i love it!!! perhaps you should mention the other cat as well…………. he seemed more than happy to volunteer for sock-tearing.
    drake

  2. Aren’t hand-knit socks just amazing?

    • Oh, wow – I’d say! I started with the 4 needles doing one sock at a time, but recently discovered doing 2 socks on 2 round needles. This is revolutionary as far as I’m concerned. One pair completed at the same time and they are even the same size! Love it…

  3. I sure admire your knitting acumen AND perseverance! I Drake’s sock looks great!

  4. Drake’s sock…

    A charming, delightful treatise on dedication to a project. I believe there’s a script in this somewhere. Consider…

    Daffodil: One sock done, one to go.

    Drake: I’ve been thinking, maybe I don’t need two socks.

    Daffodil: Really? What’s your thought?

    Drake: Tobias.

    Daffodil: Tobias?

    Drake: Tobias.

    Daffodli: Tobias…..what?

    Drake: To save you time, I could duct-tape Tobias to my foot. He’s warm, he fits and he doesn’t snag.

    Daffodil: Hmmm….if we taped Chuck to the other foot…Drake, I need to go out for a bit.

    Drake: Where you going?

    Daffodil: To buy six more cats.

Leave a Reply

