Ina Strikes Again!

thumb_bcipMove over Martha, Ina Garten has invaded the Strong residence.  

I love cooking and baking when I’m inspired!  Personally, I think Martha Stewart is an absolute genius.  When I’m in a cooking slump, I just reach for a new Martha Stewart Living magazine.  Martha coaches me. She tells me “you can do!” and in very simple steps trains me in the proper techniques. Remember the amazing chocolate Easter egg truffles on the cover of her magazine a few years ago? With Martha’s help, I made them.  They were made in real egg shells and the process took days, but they were beautiful!  

(I used eggs from my parent’s organic, free-range flock.  My mother saved all the Araucana eggs for me because they lay lovely green and blue eggs, so I didn’t have to dye my eggs).

Now I have Ina Garten’s Barefoot in Paris cookbook (Thank you Gabriels for the birthday gift that keeps on giving).  She inspired my now famous Wench toast or Fraffles, if you like. After reading her cookbook cover to cover (am I the only one who reads cookbooks like novels?), I was inspired to create an enchanting gourmet French meal for my family:  Salmon en papillote & Chocolate mousse with pizelles (side note: pizelles are Italian cookies).

Graeme posing with his meal... what have I started?

Graeme posing with his meal... what have I started?

Forrest posing and Colin non-verbally expressing his opinion of my French cuisine.

Forrest posing and Colin non-verbally expressing his opinion of my French cuisine.

The salmon was moist, the veggies were crunchy and the rice was nearly perfect.

The salmon was moist, the veggies were crunchy and the rice was nearly perfect.

Dessert got rave reviews!

Dessert got rave reviews!

The kitchen just may have gotten a 5 star from food critic, Drake, that evening...

The kitchen just may have gotten a 5 star from food critic, Drake, that evening...

4 Comments to “Ina Strikes Again!”

  1. Everything looks fantastic and yummy… Hey, I’m still waiting for my blueberry scones!

    As usual, the boys are adorable and one wonders what the kitties are thinking… “salmon, where’s mine!”

  2. When I lived in NYC, there were a few places that were must-eat:

    – Katz’s Deli on East Houston St…the best corned beef sandwich in NYC, period. It’s not even close. And their Kosher hot dogs have practically retired the Best of NY award.
    – John’s Pizza on Bleecker St. in Greenwich Village: There isn’t another pizza in the country, including Chicago, that can touch it.

    And…

    Moondance Diner. Around since sometime in the 1930’s, they’re located in Soho. And they have a Garlic Challah Bread that is insane. It’s a taste sensation beyond belief. I used to go there just for that…and then stay for things like steak quesadillas. A classic east coast diner with a not-so-typical way to eat Challah Bread.

Leave a Reply

