My New Cookbook!

As a hopeless bookworm, there’s an extra special spot reserved in my heart for cookbooks. As a teeny toddler, I could often be found sitting cross-legged on the floor pouring over the pages of the Betty Crocker’s Cookie CookbookConsequently, I learned to bake quite young because I had a mother who was patient enough to give me free rein. I was baking cookies and cakes by age 10. During my teen years and into my twenties, I found baking a great stress reliever. On the other hand, I had a personal aversion to basic cooking. Since I’d every intention of being a full-time career woman and never a mere housewife, what was the point? Weren’t there plenty of good restaurants?

I was certainly naive (complete understatement here!). Fortunately, when I was a young mother, Martha Stewart came on the scene. Although we never met, she was my mentor. Watching her show and reading her magazines, I learned a tremendous amount about cooking and homemaking. She elevated it to an art-form rather than a task. She taught and inspired me. I discovered I could cook just about anything I wanted, and I rediscovered cookbooks.

All this to say, I have a new cookbook in my life! My sister and brother-in-law, knowing my fondness for cookbooks, gave me the inspirational and pretty, Organic & Chic Cookbook (thank you, thank you!!). Written by the like-minded, Sarah Magid, this book is a visual treat featuring unique recipes, great tips, and a feast for the eyes.

Not wanting to feed her children junk-food sweets made in large factories, Sarah developed her own recipes reminiscent of store bought favorites. Her background as a top accessories designer shines through with each whimsical and artistic, edible masterpiece. As a true artist, she understands form follows function. Her recipes begin with quality, organic ingredients with a healthy dose of love.

This book is simply brilliant – a must read from cover to cover! I’m looking forward to duplicating many of these wonders!

“And from fine wheat flour, without yeast, make bread, and cakes mixed with oil, and wafers spread with oil.” Exodus 29:2

One Trackback to “My New Cookbook!”

Leave a Reply

