Birthday Croissants

Croissants are probably the most beautiful, perfect, delightful food invented by mankind.  They’re light and flakey and buttery and smell divine. They’re rather fussy to make so I’ve been, I admit, a little intimidated – after logging in hours of preparation, would if I burn them or they taste terrible?

As a birthday present to myself, I made croissants. The gift was two-fold: to challenge my culinary fears and to bake something which cannot be easily replicated.  The result: the heavenly smell of a French bakery and the rare experience of eating a croissant hot from the oven.  Happy Birthday to ME!!

Loads of butter…

Butter and flour mold ready to chill…

 

Butter and dough before layers and layers of folds…

Day Two:  Had to run to my parent’s (I almost, gulp, forgot about my dough…) and didn’t want all my work and, not to mention, butter to go to waste. I divided the dough (froze the other half), formed the croissants, and threw them in the van.  Upon arrival, I set them in a sunny spot to happily finish rising. After they were more than adequately risen, I popped them in my mother’s oven. The house soon smelled like a French Patisserie, and we devoured these little pretties fresh from the oven. And, a happy day was had by all!

Next time – pain au chocolat (chocolate croissants)…

What recipe or food intrigues yet intimidates you? Give yourself a wonderful gift – just make it! Bon appetit!

…now that you have tasted that the Lord is good. 1 Peter 2:3

Leave a Reply

